Shooting Ivy and Invasive Species Removal

What's left of the ivy vines clinging to a tree after workers cut the invasive species off the tree.

What's left of ivy vines clinging to a tree after workers cut the invasive species at the base of the tree in order to kill it and save the tree.

Just another one of those many things I’ve passed by  and told myself “you should go check that out sometime”.

On Admiral Way heading up the hill to West Seattle’s Admiral district is a hillside covered with trees being overgrown by ivy.  One day I started noticing that there were people working in the trees getting rid of the invasive and destructive ivy that was overtaking the trees and the hillside.  A few weeks ago I decided I would stop and check out what was going on.  I brought my camera and tripod and these are the results.

You never know where a cool image will come from.  Watch out for the Nettles!!!  They are all over that hillside.

This organization had a banner hanging in the forest so I think they were behind all the work being done to help save the trees.

http://www.greenseattle.org/

Leave a Reply

