Playing / Figuring out the subconscious

I was playing with some images I shot last winter of Urban Trees in downtown Seattle. I sometimes take pictures because I’m attracted to something that I’m not sure what it is I’m attracted to. I call it my subconscious minds eye.

I had passed by and wanted to photograph these trees in front of the old Federal buildings for a while.  So I went out to photograph them one rainy day. Even while I made the pictures I couldn’t figure out what I really liked about the subject and setting. It just seemed kind of boring.

Probably at least six months later I revisited the images and started playing with them trying to make them interesting to me, still wondering why I had lugged my cameras and tripod out in the rain one dreary Seattle day and shot them.  After cropping and playing for a while I eventually added this super contrasty effect to the images brings out what I think attracted my minds eye. Without it the pictures are pretty boring to me but I like them with these high contrast effects which better define the lines of the trees and the buildings. I think it’s just the contrast in styles of line, the “organic” natural shapes on top of the man made, that makes it interesting to me. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

